Pages Navigation Menu

Awards & Honors

The Center for Exoplanets and Habitable Worlds team has received numerous awards for their accomplishments, including research, teaching and service to the university, community and profession. These include:


  • CEHW postdoctoral fellow Sarah Morrison was awarded an Office of Postdoctoral Affairs Travel Award to present her work on Saturn’s moons.


  • CEHW graduate students Christian Gilbertson & Mariah MacDonald was awarded a fellowship from the Pennsylvania Space Grant Consortium for the 2018-2019 academic year for outstanding students in fields of study that promote the understanding, assessment, and utilization of space and contribute to NASA’s research mission.
  • CEHW graduate student Matthias He was awarded a Postgraduate Scholarships (Doctoral) from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC).
  • CEHW professor Rebekah Dawson awarded Sloan Research Fellowship.
  • CEHW professor Rebekah Dawson awarded Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award by Oak Ridge Associated Universities.
  • CEHW professor Jason Wrigth awarded an Institute for CyberScience Seed Grant to partner with the Breakthrough Listen Initiative
  • .



  • NASA selects CEHW-led Team to Build Next-Generation Exoplanet-Hunting Spectrograph
  • Six CEHW faculty among team members for CyberLAMP, an advanced supercomputer cluster at Penn State made possible by a National Science Function Major Research Instrumentation award.
  • CEHW graduate student Jason Curtis awarded an NSF Postdoctoral Fellowship to be held at Columbia University.
  • CEHW Graduate Student Sam Halverson awarded NASA Sagan Postdoctoral Fellowship for his research developing instrumentation to detect low-mass exoplanets to be held at the University of Pennsylvania.
  • First year CEHW graduate student Jacob Luhn awardd a National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship to study how precise radial velocity measurements made at different wavelengths using data from Penn State resources such as MINERVA, HET/HRS, and the Habitable Zone Planet Finder.
  • CEHW graduate student Guðmundur Stefánsson awarded a NASA Earth and Space Science Fellowship for his research proposal on “Extreme Precision Photometry and Radial Velocimetry from the Ground for TESS and Beyond”.
  • CEHW graduate student Sharon Wang awarded a Carnegie Postdoctoral Fellowship at the Carnegie Institute of Washington.
  • CEHW Graduate student Rachel Worth accepted an Insight Data Science Postdoctoral Fellowship.
  • CEHW graduate student Kimberly Cartier served as a mentor for the Summer Research Experience in the Eberly College of Science program (SEECoS). Her was honored with the first place award in the SEECoS program for excellence in the research presentation and the research program overall.
  • CEHW Professor Rebekah Dawson was appointed to NASA’s Science and Technology Definition Team (STDT) for the Large Ultraviolet, Optical, and Infrared (LUVOIR) Surveyor Mission. The STDT will develop a mission concept for LUVOIR in preparation for the 2020 Decadal Survey.
  • The International Astrostatistics Association honored CEHW professor Eric Feigelson with the Outstanding Contributions to Astrostatistics Award.
  • CEHW Professor Eric Ford gives the 2016 Eddington Lecture at University of Cambridge’s Institute of Astronomy and Royal Astronomical Society
  • CEHW Professor Eric Ford named Research Fellow of the Statistical and Applied Mathematical Sciences Institute for their 2016/2017 Program on Statistical, Mathematical and Computational Methods for Astronomy
  • Thomson Reuters recognizes CEHW Professor Ronald Gilliland as one of 2016 Web of Science Highly Cited Researchers.
  • CEHW Professor Jim Kasting to receive the 2015 National Academy of Sciences Award in Early Earth and Life Sciences and the Stanley Miller Medal “for his outstanding modeling studies of planetary atmospheres and habitability that constrain the environmental context for the origin of life.”
  • CEHW Professor Suvrath Mahadevan was invited to attend the Research Corporation for Science Advancement Scialog on Time Domain Astrophysics (TDA) as a Scialog Fellow. His proposal “Transformational Technologies and Techniques for High Precision Photometric and Spectroscopic Stellar TDA” was selected as one of six successful proposal teams.
  • AAS names CEHW Professor Jason Wright Harlow Shapely Visiting Lecturer to “bring the excitement of modern astronomy and astrophysics to two-year colleges and four-year ics undergraduate institutions throughout North America, especially institutions that do not offer an astronomical degree.”















Skip to toolbar